North Carolina Department of Justiceskip to main content
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

Concealed Handgun Instructor Certification

IMPORTANT: North Carolina Firearms Laws

New North Carolina Firearms Laws Please Read
CCH Instructor Update Course Application

The Concealed Carry Handgun Instructor program is regulated through the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, as designated in NCGS 14-415.12 (a)(4).
 
The requirements for eligibility to become a concealed carry handgun instructor are outlined in the North Carolina Administrative Code: 12 NCAC 09F:
  • the instructor shall hold one of the following certifications:
    • "Specific Instructor Certification-Firearms" issued by the Commission;
    • Private Protective Services Firearms Trainer Certification; or
    • "Firearms Instructor Certification" in Personal Protection, Basic Pistol, or Police Firearms issued by the National Rifle Association;
  • the instructor shall hold a certificate issued by the North Carolina Justice Academy showing successful completion of the course on "Laws Governing Concealed Handgun and Use of Deadly Force" (administered by the NC Justice Academy);
  • the instructor shall be eligible to receive or possess a firearm under Federal and North Carolina State Law.
 
Once eligible for consideration, the prospective instructor must do the following:
  • attach a copy of the actual instructor certification certificate from the Commission or the NRA;
  • attach a copy of the certificate showing successful completion of the course "Laws Governing Concealed Handgun and Use of Deadly Force;"
  • attach a copy of the course material the prospective instructor intends to teach or the course outline for prior approved courses; and
  • include the application fee of $50.00 in the form of a certified check.
 
If the prospective instructor wishes to order student certificates immediately, he or she should indicate the number of certificates on the application form and include payment in the form of a certified check.
 
The Commission, through the Criminal Justice Standards Division of the North Carolina Department of Justice, will review the qualifications submitted by the prospective instructor and review the course material. The Criminal Justice Standards Division will mail the prospective instructor a certification letter once certification as an instructor and approval of the submitted course material is completed.
 
Instructors are required by law to renew their instructor certifications and their course materials annually.  Instructors must:
  • attach a copy of the current instructor certification from the Commission or the NRA;
  • attach a copy of the course material used in teaching the class or a copy of the outline if no changes have been made to the material since the material was approved; and
  • include the $50.00 renewal fee in the form of a certified check.
 
The Criminal Justice Standards Division will mail the instructor an approval letter once the renewal process is completed.
 
Instructors may re-order student certificates at any time utilizing the Concealed Carry Handgun Certificate Re-Order Form (CCH-3).
  • Certificates are available in multiples of 25 at a cost of $1.00 per certificate.
  • The instructor must complete all questions on the re-order form and attach a certified check in the exact amount.
  • Please do not add sales tax to the amount.

    Instructors should re-order student certificates at least two weeks prior to the date they will need the certificates. Certificates are not available to instructors on a last-minute basis.

    Concealed Carry Handgun Reciprocity -- We track North Carolina gun laws, and provide information about which states have similar concealed carry permit regulations to our state’s laws.