North Carolina Department of Justiceskip to main content
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

Speed Measurement Instrument Certification

The Commission is authorized by the State of North Carolina to establish minimum standards and levels of training for radar, time-distance, and lidar operator and instructor certification.
  
The Speed Measurement Instrument Program encompasses the following activities:
 
  • Approval of all certifications to operate speed measuring instruments
  • Curriculum development in conjunction with the Speed Measuring Instrument Committee
  • Development and revision of all state-mandated forms related to the speed measuring instrument program
  • Review and approval of additional speed measuring instruments to be used in North Carolina

  

North Carolina Administrative Code References
 

  

SMI Operator Certification Requirements
 
Operator certification and recertification courses are offered for radar, time-distance, and lidar instruments.
 
  • Must have Probationary or General Law Enforcement Certification
  • Must successfully complete a written exam with a passing score of 70%
  • If necessary may retest within 90 days
  • Must successfully complete a performance test with a passing score of 100%
  • If necessary may retest within 90 days
  • Upon successful completion of the written exam and the skills test, must complete 16 hours of field practice with a certified operator exclusive of all other duties or show documentation of prior radar training

  

Requirements for Recertification
 
  • Must meet all performance objectives listed in Requirements for Basic Certification Must successfully complete a written exam with a passing score of 75%
  • No retest allowed for the written exam and certification immediately terminates if officer fails the exam
  • Must successfully pass a performance test with a passing score of 100%
  • If necessary may retest within 90 days
  • If successful on the written exam and the performance test a three-year certification is issued
  • Supplemental Training rule applies for additional units not included in the Recertification Course

 

All certifications are for a three-year period. For additional information on courses please visit the North Carolina Justice Academy Web site.
  
Supplemental Courses
 
Supplemental training must be completed on all radar units not included in the initial certification. No written test is required. The supplemental training must consist of a minimum of 1 ½ hours of training by a certified radar instructor.
 
  • If upgrading to same lane mode the operator must complete 4 hours of field practice and submit a field practice log (Form SMI 15).
  • If upgrading from stationary to moving radar, the operator must complete 8 hours of field practice and submit a field practice log.(Form SMI 15).
  • If upgrading from single to dual antenna, no field practice is required.

  

SMI Instructor Certification
 
SMI instructor and instructor recertification courses are offered for radar, time-distance and lidar instruments.
 
All certifications are for a three-year period. For additional information on courses please visit the North Carolina Justice Academy.