North Carolina Department of Justiceskip to main content
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

Rebates

Rebate offers can be tempting but it usually takes some work to get your money back. Sometimes the rebate can be immediate, meaning the store will deduct the amount at the register when you pay for the item. But most rebates require you to mail in information or submit it online before you get any money back.

 

The Law on Rebates

 

Under North Carolina law, the company must give you at least 30 days to submit your rebate claim and must provide payment within 60 days of getting your rebate form.

 

The law also requires that the terms and conditions must be clearly printed on the rebate form. This means the company has to be clear about what exactly you’ll have to do to be able to get your money back.

 

Consider the following tips before you buy something with a rebate:

 
  • Claiming a rebate can be a frustrating process. If you can’t afford the item without the rebate, don’t buy it. 

  • Follow the instructions on the rebate form carefully. If you have questions, call the company that handles the rebate program.

  • Mistakes or misunderstandings can cause your rebate claim to be denied.

  • Make a copy of all paperwork before you mail in the rebate and keep it in case you have a problem. It’s also a good idea to send your rebate by certified mail or get delivery confirmation to make sure the company received it.

  • Contact the company if the rebate doesn’t arrive within the time required. Most manufacturers and rebate companies have Web sites and phone numbers to track your rebate.
 

Long-term or Deferred Rebates

 

North Carolina law prohibits long-term or deferred rebate programs. These are rebates that make you wait several years before you can claim your rebate worth thousands of dollars on an expensive item. In North Carolina, companies cannot make you wait more than six months to file your rebate.

 

We Can Help

 

If your rebate doesn’t arrive within 60 days, contact us for help  or call toll free within North Carolina at 1-877-5-NO-SCAM.