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CRIMINAL JUSTICE EDUCATION & TRAINING STANDARDS COMMISSION
IN-SERVICE TRAINING
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
2012

GENERAL INFORMATION

1. What are the in-service training requirements?

The in-service training requirements are outlined in the Administrative Code 12
NCAC 09E. Insummary, these rules require that every law enforcement officer
certified by the Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission
must receive 24 hours of in-service training annually. The topics for this
requirement are outlined in the Code and including the following:

Firearms Training and Qualifications 4 hours
Required In-service Training Topics 12 hours
Department Topic of Choice 8 hours

2. What are the new required topics for 20127
The required in-service training topics for 2012 are:

Legal Update 4 hours
JMST: Interaction Skills in Building Rapport 2 hours
Career Survival: Social Networking and Digital Communications 4 hours
Awareness of Issues Surrounding Returning Military Personnel 2 hours

3. When will officers have to complete their in-service training requirement?

All officers holding NC General Certification through Criminal Justice Standards
on December 31 of the current calendar year must complete 2012 training
between January 1, 2012 -December 31, 2012.

4, How does a certified officer get his/her training?

The Administrative Code directs the North Carolina Justice Academy to develop
instructor and student lesson plans and training aids for the "Required In-service
Training Topics™ and Firearms blocks of instruction. Additionally, the NC Justice
Academy will develop lesson plans that may be used for Department Topic of
Choice. These topics for 2012 will be “Traffic Interdiction,” “Introduction to
Search and Rescue,” “Dealing With Epilepsy, Diabetes, Autism, and
Alzheimer’s,” “Surviving the Use of Force Incident,” and “The Public Image and
Expectations.”
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These materials may be obtained at cost from the North Carolina Justice
Academy. The agency head is responsible for ensuring that all certified officers
receive the training. Most training will occur at the agency and at community
colleges.

5. Why is HazMat, Bloodborne Pathogens and Juvenile Minority Sensitivity
Training required by the Commissions for mandatory training?
The Commission does not mandate agencies to conduct annual HazMat and
Bloodborne Pathogens training. These requirements are made by the Federal
Government. The Juvenile Minority Sensitivity Training was mandated by the
North Carolina General Assembly.

6. Can an officer miss any of the training?
No. All officers certified by Criminal Justice Standards holding NC General
Certification on December 31 of the current calendar year must attend 100% of
the training. Failure to participate in and successfully complete all of the
Required Annual In-Service Training Topics during the calendar year of service
will result in suspension of the officer’s certification by the Director of the
Criminal Justice Standards Division.

INSTRUCTORS

7. Do all instructors teaching mandated in-service training need to be instructor
certified?
Instructors conducting the in-service training program must be certified by the
Criminal Justice Standards Commission.

8. Do I have to attend the Instructor Update sessions to teach a block of
instruction for in-service training?
No.

9. Where can | find a listing of Instructor Update workshops?
Instructor updates are listed in the NC Justice Academy Training Calendar and on
the NC Justice Academy webpage: http://ncja.ncdoj.gov/Home.aspx

10. Who can teach the Legal Update topic for in-service?

All instructors who teach the required topics for in-service training must be
Commission-certified instructors. If an agency wishes to use an attorney and he
or she is not already a Commission-certified instructor, they must submit an
application for Professional Lecturer Certification.
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11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Who can teach the Active Shooter: Practical Refresher topic for in-service?

If you choose to teach the NC Justice Academy's "Active Shooter: Practical
Refresher” lesson plan, it must be taught by an instructor who has attended the
Rapid Deployment Instructor course developed by the North Carolina Justice
Academy.

If I am a trainer, do | get my in-service training credit by attending an
Instructor Update?

No. All Instructor Updates are not the same number of hours as the in-service
training block of instruction.

Do I get credit for my in-service training requirement if I teach that block of
instruction?

Yes, but you have to teach and or attend the entire block of instruction.

When do instructors get credit towards their instructor renewal for teaching in-
service training blocks of instruction?

Assuming all lesson plans are written in accordance to Commission standards,
instructors will receive credit towards their instructor renewal for teaching any in-
service topic for which the Commission has certified them to teach. Probationary
and general instructors will receive credit for teaching any in-service topic not
considered a specialized topic as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B.0304. To receive
credit for teaching in a specialized topic area as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B.0304,
the instructor must be certified by the Commission as a specialized instructor in
the topic area.

Which topics will need instructor updates? How will that be determined?

Updates will be based upon the recommendation of the In-Service Training
subcommittee to the Education and Training Committee of the Commission.
Instructor updates will be optional for the 2012 materials. Instructor updates are
available through the NC Justice Academy.

LESSON PLAN INFORMATION

16.

Does an agency have to use the newly developed lesson plan each year or can
they utilize previously developed lesson plans?

Departments must use the current lesson plan as a minimum for "Required In-
Service Training Topics" and Firearms.
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17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

22,

23.

Do I have to teach the lesson plan as is or may I modify the information in the
lesson plan?

Instructors are required to teach the lesson plan as written including videos and
discussion points to the best of their ability. Information may be added to the
lesson plan to enhance the student’s learning experience; however, the
information should be appropriate in relation to the topic and in accordance with
agency policy. The Chief/Designee should approve of any changes to the lesson
plan. The lesson plan should be retained on file with the agency.

Is the instructor required to provide each student a copy of the student lesson
plan/outline when teaching mandated in-service training?

The Administrative Code stipulates that the in-service courses developed by the
Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum curriculum. Although not
specifically required in the Rule, it is strongly encouraged that instructors provide
each student a copy of the student lesson plan during the course delivery.

Does the department have to physically keep a lesson plan from such places as a
community college or the Justice Academy?

No, a certificate or roster is satisfactory. The provider will keep the lesson plan.
How long will the provider have to keep the lesson plans?
The training provider should keep the lesson plan(s) indefinitely.

Can additional firearms hours (above the four required) be used for a portion
of the Department Topic of Choice requirement?

Yes, additional hours of firearms training may be counted as Department Topic of
Choice. The firearms training must be different than the required training and
must be accompanied by a separate lesson plan that is kept on file.

Does an agency have to teach the topical areas listed as department choices or
can the agency teach something else?

The Justice Academy agrees to develop topical areas for delivery under the
department choice category annually. These topics are NOT required to be taught
as the department choice. An agency can teach any topic of which the Chief
approves as long as the lesson plan is written in ISD format and is taught by an
instructor who is currently certified through the Criminal Justice Education and
Training Standards Division.

How do I get the annual lesson plans and training materials for in-service from
the Justice Academy?
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There are three methods to obtain materials:

a)

b)

Instructor and student lesson plans, PowerPoint slides, handouts, and
DVDs can be purchased from the Academy bookstore. An order form
may be obtained via NCJA website: http://ncja.ncdoj.gov/Home.aspx
These materials will be available on CD

Lesson plans will be available on the Web. If you are an agency head,
school director, or instructor, e-mail Mrs. Jennifer Fisher at
jfisher@ncdoj.gov to obtain the hidden link to the In-service lesson plans

on the web. Video clips cannot be obtained directly from the website.

The NCJA Audiovisual Library will have CDs or DVDs for loan. The
only cost will be return postage.

Address:
The North Carolina Justice Academy
PO Box 99
105 N. Fayetteville Ave.
Salemburg, NC 28385

Telephone: (910) 525-4151
Bookstore:  Ext. 310
AV Library: Ext. 257

DELIVERY ISSUES

24. What are the Commission's criteria for training delivery?

The provider of training will ensure the following criteria are met:

a)

b)
c)

d)

Training must be documented by a roster which includes: student names,
date/time of training, instructional topic, hours taught, instructor's name
and training provider,

The training must be taught by a Commission certified instructor,
Instructors must use the mandated lesson plan for required in-service
topics and firearms, and,

The training provider should issue a certificate containing the appropriate
number of contact hours to the officer.

25. Does training at law enforcement conferences count toward the in-service
training requirement?

Conferences may present the mandated topics, provided that state-mandated
lesson plans are taught by a certified instructor or a specialized instructor or a
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26.

27.

28.

29.

professional lecturer as required by the topic area. Training must be documented
by a roster as explained in Question #24.

Will officers be tested in in-service training?

Officers do not have to be tested in the traditional classroom with a certified
instructor leading the training. However, an optional test is available to test the
student's learning. When an officer takes computer-based or video or web
training, the student's learning will be evaluated and documented through testing
and/or study questions.

Will online, computer, or video training count toward in-service?

Yes, this training will count toward in-service if the department can provide a
completed roster, ensure that the hour requirements have been met, and the officer
is tested and/or required to complete study questions to demonstrate that learning
has occurred. Additionally, the student will receive equal credit (as in-class
hours), if computer-based training or web-based training is developed from a
mandated lesson plan and utilizes all of the written materials, discussion points,
exercises, PowerPoint presentations, and videos (where applicable).

Instructors delivering training in an online format must comply with the
guidelines contained in the "Online Training Guide" approved by the
Commission. Available at: http://ncja.ncdoj.gov/Commission-Courses/In-

Service.aspx

Does the delivery site for mandated in-service training have to be accredited by
the Commission?

No.

Will all officers, regardless of assignment and status, receive the same training?
The lesson plans for "Required In-service Training Topics" and Firearms, as
published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be applied as a minimum

for all officers. Training providers can target and enhance a lesson plan to meet
the needs of differing types and levels of officers.

Exception:

Agencies that have their own legal advisor may wish to teach the legal block in
the following manner.

The legal update will cover the most important statutory and case law that is
relevant for every officer in the state. Recognizing that agency heads and their
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30.

31.

32.

legal advisors may have legal issues pertinent to their own agencies, agency
issues may be addressed in addition to legal material that will be provided.

Does in-service training have to be delivered in days or can smaller increments
of training such as roll call training be used?

In-service training can be broken into smaller increments of training if the
Commission criteria for training providers are met as outlined in Question #24.

Can Haz-Mat and Bloodborne Pathogens be used as a portion of the
Department Topic of Choice?

Yes, Specialized Explosive and Hazardous Materials Emergencies instructors
certified through the Commission are the only instructors permitted to instruct
Haz-Mat and any Commission certified instructor is eligible to teach bloodborne
pathogens for in-service training. It is recommended that the instructor teaching
bloodborne pathogens have some practical experience within this area. Agencies
may use the HazMat and Bloodborne Pathogens lesson plans which were
developed by the Justice Academy for the 2005 in-service training year if:

a) The lesson plans are reviewed for correctness,

b) The academic checklist updated to reflect that it was reviewed, by
whom and when, and;

C) The footer updated to reflect the current training year.

What counts as the annual firearms qualification requirement of four hours?
The four hours of firearms training is not limited to one session. It can include all

firearms training in which an officer participates throughout the year including
class instruction, practice, qualification, and remediation.

CERTIFICATION ISSUES

33.

When will new probationary officers need to complete in-service training?

If an officer holds Probationary Certification on December 31 of the current
calendar year, he/she is NOT required to complete the mandated in-service
training. New officers hired during the calendar year in which they have
successfully completed a BLET delivery and been issued Probationary
Certification are deemed by the Commission to have, with the exception of the
Firearms Training and Qualification Course, satisfied the mandated in-service
training for that calendar year. New officers who completed the BLET course
from an outside source, such as a community college or another department, using
a different weapon than the one issued by their department, are required to
complete their department’s full Firearms Training and Qualification Course to
qualify for probationary certification. Correspondingly, an officer completing
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34.

35.

36.

37.

their own department’s BLET course has satisfied the firearms and all other in-
service requirements for that calendar year.

When will lateral transfers (with General Certification) need to complete in-
service training?

If an officer has separated from an agency with less than a 12 month break in law
enforcement service and is later employed as a law enforcement officer during the
same calendar year, the officer shall have completed all of the in-service training
topics as specified in 12 NCAC 09E.0102 by the end of that same calendar year.
Upon notification that such officer has failed to meet all of the requirements for
in-service training as specified in 12 NCAC 09E.0102, the law enforcement
officer’s certification shall be suspended.

What happens if an officer has an extended illness, suffers an accident, or is
called up for active military service?

The Commission has authorized the Director of the Criminal Justice Standards
Division to grant temporary waivers to those officers who fail to complete the in-
service training due to illness, accident, military leave, or other legitimate reasons.
The officer’s Chief of Police shall submit the Form F-9B (Report of Non-
Compliance) along with the agency’s end of the year report form (F-9) requesting
a waiver. Supporting documentation such as military orders, DD214, or medical
documentation, should also be submitted. The agency will receive a written
response from the Director of the Standards Division.

What if the officer fails to complete his/her in-service training in 2012 and is
suspended by the Commission? If he/she completes the mandated training in
2013 in order to be reinstated, does this training suffice for the 2013 calendar
year training requirement?

Upon notification from an agency head that a law enforcement officer who has
been continuously employed with an agency during the 12 month calendar year
(i.e., Jan.1, 2012/Dec. 31, 2012) has failed to meet the requirements for in-service
training, the officer's certification shall be suspended. In order to have that
suspension lifted, the officer must submit evidence to the Commission staff that
he/she has completed all of the in-service training topics as specified in the rules.
There is no provision in the Commission's rules which exempts such an officer
from completing the in-service training for 2013, so the "make-up" training for
2012 will not suffice for the new.

What about an officer who also holds certification under the Sheriffs'
Commission as a deputy sheriff?

The Sheriffs' Commission's in-service training requirement differs from the
Criminal Justice Education & Training Standards Commission in that specific
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hours per topical area are not mandated. This requirement allows each Sheriff to
exercise some discretion in the number of hours his/her deputies need in each
topical area. However, the topical areas are identical. Therefore, an individual
who completes the in-service training as prescribed by the Criminal Justice
Education & Training Standards Commission will also meet the Sheriffs’
Commission's in-service training criteria. 1f such a police officer/deputy sheriff
completes in-service training where the hours do not comply with the Criminal
Justice Commission's rules, his/her police officer certification may be suspended
under that Commission. Therefore, it is recommended that such police
officer/deputy sheriff comply with the in-service training requirement as set out
under the Criminal Justice Commission in order to maintain certification under
both Commissions.

IN-SERVICE TRAINING COORDINATOR

38.

39.

What are the requirements to be eligible to serve as an In-service Training
Coordinator?

The In-Service Training Coordinator shall meet the following criteria:

a) Have four years of practical experience as a criminal justice officer or as
an administrator or specialist in a field directly related to the criminal
justice system.

b) Hold General Instructor certification.

C) Have successfully participated in the "Coordinating In-service Training
Course" for the purpose of familiarization with the trainee and instructor
evaluation.

d) Submit a request form to the Criminal Justice Standards Division.
What are the responsibilities of an In-service Training Coordinator?

According to NCAC 09E.0109, an In-service Training Coordinator shall:

a) Administer the delivery of the In-service Training course curriculum

b) Select and schedule instructors

C) Ensure that each instructor utilizes a current Commission-approved lesson
plan

d) Monitor, or designate a certified instructor to monitor the presentations of
instructors during course deliveries and prepare a written evaluation on
their performance and suitability for subsequent instructional assignments.

e) Maintain records of all in-service training received by the agency's
officers to include, at a minimum:

1) Course title
2 Delivery hours of course
3) Course delivery dates
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40.

41.

42.

43.

44,

4) Names and addresses of instructors utilized for each topic
(5) A roster of enrolled trainees documenting class attendance; and
(6) Test scores from in-service training.

Does my agency have to appoint someone as the In-service Training
Coordinator?

No. This position is available for those agencies that conduct in-service training
in-house and primarily use instructors from their agency. If your agency out-
sources in-service training to the community colleges or other agencies, then you
do not need someone designated as an In-service Training Coordinator.

As an In-service Training Coordinator, who can | use to deliver my agency’s in-
service training?

In-service Training Coordinators may use any Commission certified instructor in
the delivery of in-service training. Those instructors teaching any of the
specialized topics as outlined in 12 NCAC 09B.0304 must possess the appropriate
specialized certification.

As an In-service Training Coordinator, which instructors can | evaluate and
recommend for renewal?

In-service Training Coordinators may evaluate and sign instructor renewal forms
for any Commission certified instructor used in the delivery of in-service training
for the In-service Training Coordinator's agency. This includes instructors
teaching either of the specialized topics outlined in 12 NCAC 09B.0304.

If my agency has an In-service Training Coordinator, who may attend our in-
service training?

The in-service training will be primarily for the In-service Training Coordinator's

agency. With approval from the agency head, the In-service Training Coordinator
may invite certified law enforcement officers from other agencies to attend the in-
service training.

Does the in-service training coordinator have to attend the “Coordinating In-
Service” course on an annual basis to stay current?

No. There is no additional required training for the in-service training coordinator
at this time.
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