Take ActionFile a Price Gouging Complaint (available only when the price gouging law is in effect)
North Carolina's price gouging law is usually triggered when the state suffers or is threatened by a natural disaster such as a hurricane, tornado, winter storm, or flooding.
Price gouging—or charging too much in times of crisis—is against North Carolina law when a disaster, an emergency or an abnormal market disruption for critical goods and services is declared or proclaimed by the Governor.
North Carolina's price gouging law is NOT currently in effect.
Under the law, the Attorney General’s Office can put a stop to price gouging and seek refunds for consumers who paid too much. The courts may also impose civil penalties against price gougers of up to $5,000 for each violation.
The law applies to all levels of the supply chain from the manufacturer to the distributor to the retailer.
Consumers have let the Attorney General's Office know about price gouging in the past and we have enforced North Carolina’s price gouging law
to win thousands of dollars in refunds and penalties from violators.
Attorney General Cooper and his Consumer Protection Division won $71,000 from 14 gas stations
as part of a price gouging investigation launched in 2008.
We Can Help
If you think you've experienced price gouging, file a complaint
or call toll free within North Carolina at 1-877-5-NO-SCAM.