North Carolina Department of Justiceskip to main content
North Carolina Department of Justice
North Carolina Department of Justice
Submit this request

Sheriffs Education & Training Standards

The North Carolina Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission is responsible for the certification of all justice officers, including deputy sheriffs, detention officers and telecommunicators, who are employed in the 100 Sheriffs' Offices in this state pursuant to N.C.G.S. 17E. The Commission also oversees the establishment, maintenance and upgrading of acceptable training courses.
Resulting from the creation of the Commission, the Sheriffs' Standards Division was established as part of the Department of Justice. The primary objective of this Division is to act as staff to the Commission in carrying out its responsibilities.



2019 Commission Meeting Schedule:

March 14 & 15 - Wake County
June 13 & 14 - Wake County
September 12 & 13 - Cleveland County
December 12 & 13 - Wake County