## **RECOGNITION OF TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE OF**

### MILITARY SPOUSES

#### FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

North Carolina General Statute § 93B-15.1 directed licensing and certification boards to review training and experience for military members and spouses and if they meet certain minimum standards award them credit.

## 1. What are the minimum qualifications to apply to have your training and experience evaluated?

For active duty and veterans who served in military police occupation, please see the FAQ's for Military Police Experience.

For Military Spouses:

- Must hold a current license, certification, or registration from another jurisdiction, and that jurisdiction's requirements for licensure, certification, or registration are substantially equivalent to or exceed the requirements for certification in North Carolina.
- Must demonstrate competency in the occupation through methods as determined the Sheriffs' Standards Commission, such as having completed continuing education units or have had recent experience for at least two of the five years preceding the date of the application for review.
- All relevant experience, including full-time and part-time experience regardless of whether in a paid or volunteer capacity, shall be credited in the calculation of years of practice as stated above.
- Cannot have committed any act in any jurisdiction that would have constituted grounds for refusal, suspension, or revocation of a license to practice that occupation in North Carolina at the time the act was committed.
- Must be in good standing and has not been disciplined by the agency that had jurisdiction to issue the license, certification or permit, and have no pending complaints.
- Must meet the minimum standards for law enforcement officers as set out in 12 NCAC 10B which can be found at: <u>http://reports.oah.state.nc.us/ncac.asp?folderName=\Title%2012%20-%20Justice\Chapter%2010%20-</u> %20Sheriffs%27%20Education%20and%20Training%20Standards%20Com <u>mission</u>.

#### 2. What is evaluated?

All relevant experience, including full-time and part-time experience, regardless of whether in a paid or volunteer capacity.

#### 3. How much training will I be required to complete?

This will be based on the evaluation of your combined training and experience.

# 4. Do I have to complete the training prior to being awarded my probationary certification?

No. Once appointed by an agency, you will have up to one year to complete the identified training in a Criminal Justice Standards Division Commission accredited BLET and pass the state comprehensive examination.

#### 5. How soon will I know the results of my evaluation?

You will be advised of the results of your evaluation within 15 days of a completed application.

#### 6. How do I apply?

You will need to submit the following documentation to the Sheriffs' Standards Division:

- A letter from your previous law enforcement agency detailing your dates of full-time, part-time, volunteer service, and that you are in good standing.
- A copy of your Basic Law Enforcement Training course certificate of successful completion.
- A copy of your family member military orders.
- Any other supporting documentation for training, experience, or volunteer work that you have obtained related to law enforcement experience.

The mailing address of the Criminal Justice Standards Division is:

Sheriffs' Standards DivisionTelephone: (919) 779-82131700 Tryon Park DriveRaleigh, North Carolina 27610