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12 NCAC 10B .0601 is proposed for amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

SECTION .0600 - MINIMUM STANDARDS OF TRAINING FOR DETENTION OFFICERS 3 

 4 

12 NCAC 10B .0601 DETENTION OFFICER CERTIFICATION COURSE 5 

(a)  This Section establishes the current standard by which Sheriffs' Office and district confinement personnel shall 6 

receive detention officer training. The Detention Officer Certification Course shall consist of a minimum of 174 hours 7 

of instruction designed to provide the trainee with the skills and knowledge necessary to perform those tasks 8 

considered essential to the administration and operation of a confinement facility.  The detention officer certification 9 

training program shall consist of the 182-hour Detention Officer Certification Course developed by the North Carolina 10 

Justice Academy and approved by the Commission. 11 

(b)  Each Detention Officer Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and minimum 12 

instructional hours for each area: 13 

(1) LEGAL UNIT 14 

(A) Orientation       3 hours 15 

(B) Criminal Justice Systems      2 hours 16 

(C) Legal Aspects of Management and Supervision   14 hours 17 

(D) Introduction to Rules and Regulations    2 hours 18 

(E) Ethics        3 hours 19 

UNIT TOTAL        24 Hours 20 

(2) PHYSICAL UNIT 21 

(A) Contraband/Searches      6 hours 22 

(B) Patrol and Security Function of the Jail    5 hours 23 

(C) Key and Tool Control      2 hours 24 

(D) Investigative Process in the Jail     8 hours 25 

(E) Transportation of Inmates      7 hours 26 

(F) Prison Rape Elimination Act     2 hours 27 

UNIT TOTAL        30 Hours 28 

(3) PRACTICAL APPLICATION UNIT 29 

(A) Processing Inmates      8 hours 30 

(B) Supervision and Management of Inmates    5 hours 31 

(C) Suicides and Crisis Management     5 hours 32 

(D) Aspects of Mental Illness      6 hours 33 

(E) Fire Emergencies       4 hours 34 

(F) Notetaking and Report Writing     6 hours 35 

(G) Communication Skills      5 hours 36 

UNIT TOTAL        39 hours 37 



(4) MEDICAL UNIT 1 

(A) First Aid and CPR      8 hours 2 

(B) Medical Care in the Jail      6 hours 3 

(C) Stress        3 hours 4 

(D) Subject Control Techniques     32 40 hours 5 

(E) Physical Fitness for Detention Officers    22 hours 6 

UNIT TOTAL        71 79 hours 7 

(5) REVIEW AND TESTING       7 hours 8 

(6) STATE EXAM        3 hours 9 

TOTAL HOURS        174 182 HOURS 10 

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in the "Detention Officer 11 

Certification Course Management Guide," the Commission shall designate the developer of the Detention Officer 12 

Certification Course curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as approval for the developer 13 

to conduct pilot Detention Officer Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot Detention Officer 14 

Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement. 15 

(d)  The "Detention Officer Certification Training Manual" published by the North Carolina Justice Academy shall be 16 

used as the basic curriculum for the Detention Officer Certification Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained 17 

by contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. The 18 

cost of this manual, CD, indexes and binder is fifty-one dollars and seventy-five cents ($51.75) at the time this Rule 19 

was last amended. 20 

(e)  The "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" published by the North Carolina Justice 21 

Academy is hereby incorporated by reference, including subsequent amendments and editions, and shall be used by 22 

school directors in planning, implementing, and delivering basic detention officer training. The standards and 23 

requirements established by the "Detention Officer Certification Course Management Guide" shall be adhered to by 24 

the school director. The Justice Academy shall issue to each certified school director a copy of the guide at the time 25 

of certification at no cost to the certified school. 26 

(c) No Detention Officer Certification Course shall be offered by any agency or institution without the approval of the 27 

Commission pursuant to Rules .0704 and .0802 of this Subchapter.  Any agency or institution desiring to offer the 28 

Detention Officer Certification Course shall file a Pre-Delivery Report, Form F-7A, with the Division. 29 

 30 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4(a); 31 

Eff. January 1, 1989; 32 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2016; February 1, 2014; August 1, 2011; October 1, 2009; January 1, 2006; 33 

August 2, 2002; August 1, 2000; August 1, 1998; February 1, 1998; January 1, 1996; June 1, 1992; 34 

January 1, 1992; January 1, 1991; 35 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 36 

2018. 37 



Amended Eff. August 1, 2024. 1 
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