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Public Hearing 
December 19, 2023 @ 9:00am 

1700 Tryon Park Drive 
Raleigh, NC  27610 

 
Instructions for Oral and Written Comments 
The public comment period begins on November 15, 2023 and ends at 5:00 p.m. 
on January 16, 2024. Public comments shall be in writing and shall be directed to: 
 
Melissa Bowman 
North Carolina Department of Justice 
Sheriffs’ Education and Training Standards Division 
Post Office Box 629 
Raleigh, NC  27602-0629 

 
“Public Comment” is defined by NCGS 150B-21.3A(a)(5) as a written objection to all or part of 
a rule.  Additionally, pursuant to NCGS 150B-21.3A(c)(2), in order for the Rules Review 
Commission to determine whether the public comment has merit, the public comment must 
address the specific substance of the rule and address any of the standards of Commission 
review, as set forth in NCGS 150B-21.9(a). 
 

 
***If approved, this change would become effective March 1, 2024*** 

 

 

 



Procedure for Subjecting a Proposed Rule to Legislative Review:  

 
If an objection is not resolved prior to the adoption of the rule, a person may also submit written 
objections to the Rules Review Commission. If the Rules Review Commission receives written 
and signed objections in accordance with G.S. 150B-21.3(b2) from 10 or more persons clearly 
requesting review by the legislature and the Rules Review Commission approves the rule, the rule 
will become effective as provided in G.S. 150B-21.3(b1). The Commission will receive written 
objections until 5:00 p.m. on the day following the day the Commission approves the rule. The 
Commission will receive those objections by mail, delivery service, hand delivery, or facsimile 
transmission. If you have any further questions concerning the submission of objections to the 
Commission, please call a Commission staff attorney at 919-431-3000. 

 

***Statutory Authority for Proposed Rules Changes by the Sheriffs’ Commission is found in NCGS 17E***
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12 NCAC 10B .1302 is proposed for amendment as follows: 1 

 2 

12 NCAC 10B .1302 TELECOMMUNICATOR CERTIFICATION COURSE 3 

(a)  The Commission hereby accredits approves as its telecommunicator certification training program, the 47-hour 4 

Telecommunicator Certification Course developed by the North Carolina Justice Academy. 5 

(b)  Each Telecommunicator Certification Course shall include the following identified topic areas and approximate 6 

minimum instructional hours for each area: 7 

(1) Orientation         2 hours 8 

(2) Introductory Topics for the Telecommunicator     2 3 hours 9 

(3) Interpersonal Communication       4 2 hours 10 

(4) Civil Liability for the Telecommunicator      4 5 hours 11 

(5) Telecommunications Systems and Equipment     2 3 hours 12 

(6) Overview of Emergency Services       9 7 hours 13 

(7) Communications Resources       2 hours 14 

(8)(7) Call Reception, Prioritization, and Resource Allocation Reception and Prioritization 6 8 hours 15 

(9)(8) Broadcasting Techniques, Rules, and Procedures Techniques and Resource Allocation 6 7 hours 16 

(10)(9) Telecommunicator Training Practicum      8 hours 17 

(11)(10) State Comprehensive Examination       2 hours 18 

TOTAL HOURS          47 hours 19 

(c)  Consistent with the curriculum development policy of the Commission as published in the "Telecommunicator 20 

Certification Course Management Guide", the Commission shall designate the developer of the Telecommunicator 21 

Certification Course curricula and such designation shall be deemed by the Commission as approval for the developer 22 

to conduct pilot Telecommunicator Certification Courses. Individuals who complete such a pilot Telecommunicator 23 

Certification Course offering shall be deemed to have complied with and satisfied the minimum training requirement. 24 

(d)  The "Telecommunicator Certification Training Manual" as published by the North Carolina Justice Academy 25 

shall be used and shall automatically include any later amendments and editions of the incorporated matter to apply 26 

as the basic curriculum for the Telecommunicator Certification Course. Copies of this manual may be obtained by 27 

contacting the North Carolina Justice Academy, Post Office Box 99, Salemburg, North Carolina 28385-0099. 28 

(e)  The "Telecommunicator Certification Course Management Guide" as published by the North Carolina Justice 29 

Academy shall be used and shall automatically include any later amendments, editions of the incorporated matter to 30 

be used by certified school directors in planning, implementing and delivering basic telecommunicator training. The 31 

standards and requirements established by the "Telecommunicator Certification Course Management Guide" must be 32 

adhered to by the certified school director. Each certified school director shall be issued a copy of the guide at the time 33 

of certification at no cost to the accredited school. 34 

(f)(c)  Institutions may offer to deliver the Telecommunicator Certification Course after the Commission has approved 35 

the institution's pre-delivery report documenting who will be teaching the blocks of instruction for each course 36 

offering. No Telecommunicator Certification Course shall be offered by any persons, agencies, or institutions without 37 



 

4 of 4 

the approval of the Commission pursuant to Rules .0709 and .0804 of this Subchapter. Any persons, agencies, or 1 

institutions desiring to offer the Telecommunicator Certification Course shall file a Pre-Delivery Report (Form F-7A-2 

T). 3 

 4 

History Note: Authority G.S. 17E-4(a); 5 

Temporary Adoption Eff. March 1, 1998; 6 

Eff. August 1, 1998; 7 

Amended Eff. April 1, 2001; 8 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 6, 9 

2018. 10 

  Amended Eff. March 1, 2024. 11 

 12 


