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MINUTES  
North Carolina Criminal Justice 
Education and Training Standards Commission 
 
Planning & Standards Committee 
May 17, 2017 
 
The Planning & Standards (P&S) Committee of the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training 
Standards Commission met at Wake Tech Public Safety Center, Raleigh on May 17, 2017 at 10:30am. 
 
Committee Members Present 
Commissioner Jeff Welty, Chair 
Commissioner Brent Herron 
Commissioner Trey Robison 
Commissioner Teresa Jardon 
Commissioner James Fisher-Davis 
Commissioner Richard Epley  
Commissioner Robert Hassell  
Commissioner James Moore 
 
 
Guests Present 
Monica Shabo, OSDT 
Nathan Mizell, Nash CC 
Chief Jeff Smythe, Burlington PD 
Chief David Hess, Roxboro PD 
Trevor Allen, NC Justice Academy 
 
CJ Standards Staff Present 
Steven Combs 
Richard Squires 
Charminique Williams 
Dawn Suffel 
Susan Myers 
Thomas Sheinall 
 
 
Call to Order 
Committee Chair Jeff Welty called the meeting to order and declared a quorum.  
 
Approval of the February 15, 2017 Meeting Minutes  
Motion to approve was made by Commissioner Richard Epley and seconded by Commissioner Robert Hassell.  
Motion carried unanimously. 
 
Rule-Making Hearing 
Under separate cover. 
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Proposed Rule Revisions  

12NCAC 09C .0306 Item (d) – LATERAL TRANSFER OF LE OFFICERS  
Chief Smythe, Burlington PD, appeared before the committee to ask the Commission to consider allowing a 
transferring officer a waiver for paperwork to expedite the officer’s start date. Chief Smythe explained that 
requested permission would allow the officer to begin working with his or her new agency while completing the 
necessary paperwork for CJ Standards Division (fingerprints, drug screen, medical examination). The 
transferring officer must still complete the required items and receive Division approval within 60-days of 
starting with his or her new agency.  Chief Hess, Roxboro PD, also appeared before the committee and stated his 
support of the request by stating that this change would highly benefit the smaller agencies across the state. 
 
Other rules affected include:  12 NCAC 09A .0206 – SUMMARY SUSPENSION; 12 NCAC 09B .0101 – 
MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CJ OFFICERS; and 12 NCAC 09B .0104 – MEDICAL EXAMINATION. 
 
Division Director Steven Combs informed the committee that the proposed change will not negatively impact 
staff workload. 
 
Motion to amend the rule to allow the CJ Standards Division 60-days, upon receiving request from the agency’s 
department head, approval for the officer to begin working with his or her new agency while completing the 
necessary paperwork, and to request from the full Commission rule-making authority of this and other affected 
rules was made by Commissioner Robert Hassell and seconded by Commissioner Teresa Jardon. The motion 
further stipulates that amendment specifically applies to currently certified, full-time officers with no break in 
service. Motion carried. 
 
 
12 NCAC 09B .0101 MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR CJ OFFICERS 
The committee discussed options for modifying language concerning moral character of law enforcement 
officers to be parallel with that of corrections officers in 12 NCAC 09G .0206. Options included either adding 
same moral character language to 09B .0101 to mirror what is in 09G .0206 or create a new rule. Motion to 
select the option of adding same moral character language to 09B .0101 to mirror what is in 09G .0206 and to 
ask the full Commission for rulemaking authority was made by Commissioner Robert Hassell and seconded by 
Commissioner Teresa Jardon. Motion carried. 
 
 
12 NCAC 09B. 0301 Item (g) CERTIFICATION OF INSTRUCTORS   
The committee discussed and agreed that non-law enforcement instructors should have his or her instructor 
certification automatically suspended or revoked if his or her professional certification (for example, as an EMT) 
is suspended or revoked. Motion was made to adopt rule revision to allow for automatic suspension/revocation 
as stated, but with language added to include an obligation for the instructor to self-report to the Commission 
within 30-days of suspension from their respective certifying body and to ask the full Commission for rule-
making authority was made by Commissioner James Moore and seconded by Commissioner Robert Hassell. 
Motion carried. 
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Decennial Rules Review 
Ms. Charminique Williams presented the committee with an update of requirements in response to G.S. 150B-
21.3A (Periodic Review and Expiration of Existing Rules) in which state legislature requires the “Rules Review 
Commission (RRC)” to enforce a process for affected agencies’ review of respective active rules within the NC 
Administrative Code every 10 years. Ms. Williams explained that the CJ Commission has a responsibility to 
complete the process by March 2019 with an overall goal of deciding necessity of rules. She also provided a list 
of suggested  (40+) rules, selected based on group subject matter, to be considered by the committee at the 
August meeting. 
 
  
Motion to Adjourn 
Motion to adjourn was made by Commissioner Brent Herron and seconded by Commissioner Richard Epley.  
Motion carried. 


