12 NCAC 09C .0306 is being proposed for amendment as follows:

3	12 NCAC 09C .	0306 LATERAL TRANSFER OF LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS	
4	(a) A law enfor	reement officer with general certification from either the Criminal Justice Education and Training	
5	Standards Commission or the Sheriffs' Education and Training Standards Commission may transfer from one law		
6	enforcement agency to another law enforcement agency with less than a 12 month break in law enforcement service.		
7	Prior to employing the officer, officer who has been separated from his previous agency for more than 30 days, the		
8	employing agence	ey shall:	
9	(1)	verify the certification of the officer with the Criminal Justice Standards Division or the Sheriffs'	
10		Standards Division;	
11	(2)	submit a new fingerprint check to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in compliance	
12		with the requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0103(a) and (b), in the same manner as prescribed	
13		for non-certified new applicants. No certification shall be transferred if the holder has been	
14		convicted since initial certification of any offense for which revocation or suspension of certification	
15		is authorized; and	
16	(3)	advise the officer that he will be serving under a probationary appointment with the agency for one	
17		year; and	
18	(4)<u>(3)</u>	notify the Commission by submitting a Report of Appointment that the officer is being employed	
19		and stating the date on which employment will commence.commence : [and]	
20	<u>(4)</u>	obtain a signed and notarized Release Authorization Form from the transferring officer. The	
21		employing agency shall obtain the full personnel file from the previous agency(ies) worked during	
22		the previous 24 months and include this content in the background file, minus any medically	
23		protected or sensitive material.	
24	<u>(5)</u>	complete a background investigation on all applicants for [certification,] employment as set forth in	
25		<u>12 NCAC 09B .0102.</u>	
26	(b) For officers	who have been separated from their previous agency for more than 30 days, prior Prior to transfer of	
27	certification, the	law enforcement officer shall:	
28	(1)	complete a Medical History Statement Form within one year prior to the transfer to the employing	
29		agency: comply with the requirements of 12 NCAC 09B .0104;	
30	(2)	-submit to examination by a surgeon, physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner licensed to	
31		practice medicine in North Carolina in the same manner prescribed for non-certified new applicants	
32		in 12 NCAC 09B .0104 within one year prior to the transfer to the employing agency;	
33	<mark>(3)(2)</mark>	submit results of the physical examination to the employing agency for placement in the officer's	
34		permanent personnel file;	
35	<mark>(4)</mark> (3)	produce a negative result on a drug screen administered according to the specifications outlined in	
36		12 NCAC 09B .0101(5); [<mark>.0101(6);</mark>]- <u>09C .0310;</u> and	
37	<mark>(5)</mark> (4)	either:	

1	(A)	submit a copy of the Commission's annual in service training report form Firearms
2		Qualification Record Instructions Form F-9A to the employing agency for placement in
3		the officer's permanent personnel file when the duty and off duty weapons remain the same
4		as those previously used to qualify. The Form F-9A shall contain the date(s) and instructors
5		signature indicating the law enforcement officer's successful completion of the mandatory
6		freamrs classroom trainining, and the firearms range qualification scores for the duty and
7		off-duty weapons assigned to the law enforcement officer. Such in-service training
8		compliance shall have occurred within the 12 month period preceding transfer; or
9	(B)	satisfactorily complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as
10		prescribed in 12 NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106.
11	(c) Prior to employing t	he officer who has been separated from his previous agency for 30 days or less, the employing
12	agency shall:	
13	(1) verify	the certification of the officer with the Criminal Justice Standards Division or the Sheriffs'
14	<u>Standa</u>	ards Division;
15	(2) verify.	, by reviewing the Form F-5B, Affidavit of Separation from the previous employed agency,
16	that th	e officer was not subject to discipline or under investigation at the time of separation;
17	(3) submit	t a new fingerprint check to the North Carolina State Bureau of Investigation, in compliance
18	with th	ne requirements set forth in 12 NCAC 09B .0103(a) and (b), in the same manner as prescribed
19	for noi	n-certified new applicants. This fingerprint check will be waived once all officers are enrolled
20	in the l	Federal Bureau of Investigation's Next Generation Identification System and Criminal Justice
21	Record	d of Arrest and Prosecution Background (RapBack) Service. No certification shall be
22	<u>transfe</u>	erred if the holder has been convicted since initial certification of any offense for which
23	revoca	tion or suspension of certification is authorized;
24	(4) notify	the Commission by submitting a Name/Status Change, Form F-19, that the officer is being
25	emplo	yed and stating the date on which the employment will commence; and
26	(<u>5) satisfa</u>	ctorily complete the employing agency's in-service firearms training program as prescribed
27	<u>in 12 I</u>	NCAC 09E .0105 and .0106.
28	(c) (d) Officers previo	ously certified who were not previously required to meet the educational or basic training
29	requirements shall not b	e required to meet such requirements when laterally transferring to another agency with less
30	than a 12-month break in	n law enforcement service.
31	(d) (e) For currently cer	tified full time officers with no break in service, upon written request from the department
32	head of the hiring agenc	y, the Division shall waive for a period of no more than <mark>60 days</mark> form the receipt of
33	the Report of Appointm	nent by the Standards Division the requirements of Subparagraphs of (b)(1), (b)(2), (b)(3),
34	(b)(4), and (b)(5) of	this Rule. The Report of Appointment Form is located on the agency's website:
35	http://www.ncdoj.gov/ge	etdoc/64d263a3 a598 4c45 9541 04ef088cf288/F 5A (DJJDP) 6 11.aspx.
36 37 38	-	rity G.S. 17C-6; 17C-10; nuary 1, 1981;

1	Amended Eff. April 1, 2018; October 1, 2017; May 1, 2009; July 1, 1990; March 1, 1990; July 1,
2	1989; July 1, 1982;
3	Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A, rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. May 25,
4	2019.
5	<u>Amended Eff. January 1, 2024</u>
6	