# PATIENT INFORMATION SHEET

#### **HOSPITAL PERSONNEL**

Please Give This Sheet To The Victim/Patient

# Sexual Assault Kit Serial Number:

To track your kit's current location and status, go to <u>www.SexualAssaultKitTracking.ncdoj.gov</u>. There are Instructions on the website on how to pull up your kit using the serial number given to you on this paperwork.

North Carolina has a large number of rape crisis centers throughout the state that can be of help to you. These centers provide free, confidential referrals and services for sexual assault victims, survivors, and their close family and friends.

For the most current list of phone numbers where you may reach rape crisis personnel who can assist you with counseling and various other support services in your community, please contact the North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault:

#### Phone Number: (919) 871-1015 Website: <u>http://nccasa.org</u>

You may also wish to call CARE-LINE, a toll-free call anywhere in North Carolina for an up-to-date listing of referral services in your community. This number is 1-800-662-7030 and is manned 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. CARE-LINE is a service of the North Carolina Department of Human Resources.

For additional information and resources, you may also contact the North Carolina Department of Administration - Council for Women and Youth Involvement:

Main Office: (919) 733-2455

Website: https:/ncadmin.nc.gov/advocacy/women

## KNOW WHERE TO TURN FOR HELP



### **RAPE VICTIM ASSISTANCE PROGRAM**

The General Assembly authorized funds in 1981 to provide financial assistance to victims of rape, attempted rape, sexual assault and attempted sexual assault who report the crime to the proper law enforcement officials within 72 hours of the incident. The program, which is administered by the N.C. Department of Crime Control and Public Safety's Division of Victim and Justice Services, provides up to \$1000 for immediate and short-term medical expenses. The program can also pay for mental health and ambulance services.

The assistance is paid directly to the hospital or doctor providing the care. It is important that you provide them with all the details of your insurance coverage because the Rape Assistance Program will coordinate benefits with any applicable insurance plan.

For immediate help with the program you should speak with the emergency room staff or someone in the business office. If you have further questions please write or call the address or number at the bottom of this page.

### NORTH CAROLINA CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION PROGRAM

As a victim of rape or sexual assault you may also be eligible for help from the North Carolina Crime Victim Compensation Program which helps victims of violent crimes meet their financial obligations. The program can assist victims in payment of medical bills as well as fees for psychological counseling and lost wages which add up while victims recover.

The Victim Compensation Program is available to victims for up to one year after the crime, but only if the victim cooperates with the law enforcement agency.

If you are interested in receiving help through these programs and/or have questions about them, please write or call (toll-free) the address or phone number below:

Rape Victim Assistance Program OR N.C. Crime Victim Compensation Division of Victim Compensation Services Department of Public Safety 4232 Mail Serv. Ctr. Raleigh, NC 27699-4703 1-800-826-6200 919-733-7974