Skip Navigation
  • Robocall Hotline:(844)-8-NO-ROBO
  • All Other Complaints:(877)-5-NO-SCAM
  • Outside NC:919-716-6000
  • En Español:919-716-0058

Membership and Meetings

The Commission is composed of seventeen (17) members:

Twelve (12) sheriffs, one from each of the ten (10) Commission Districts and two (2) at-large appointees. These 12 sheriffs are appointed in accordance with the by-laws of the North Carolina Sheriffs’ Association (17E-3).

One person appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives and one appointed by the Senate Pro-Tem.

One County Commissioner appointed by the Governor.

The President of the Department of Community Colleges and the Director of the Institute of Government serve as ex officio, non-voting members.

Sheriffs serve terms of three years with the exception of those appointed by the Speaker of the House and the Lt. Governor. Persons appointed by the Speaker of the House, the Lt. Governor, and the Governor serve terms of two years even though these appointees may be sheriffs — with the exception of the Governor’s appointee, who must be a County Commissioner.

The Chairman and other officers are elected annually from among the membership. The Chairman of the Probable Cause Committee and the other four (4) committee members are appointed by the Chairman to staggered terms as specified in the Commission’s Constitution and By-Laws.

The Commission meets at least four times a year in various locations throughout the state.