Crime Lab Resources
Use the CODIS Hit Follow Up Survey to provide electronic notice to the NC State Crime Laboratory within 15 days of an arrest and within 15 days after a conviction resulting from a CODIS Hit.
The North Carolina State Crime Laboratory is currently working sexual assault kits submitted in February of 2022. If you have additional questions concerning the testing of sexual assault kits, please contact Public Protection at (919) 716-6780.
- Sexual Assault Kit Tracking System Overview
- STIMS Agency Administrator Training
- Vendor User Training
- Medical Personnel User Training
- Law Enforcement Personnel User Training
- Crime Laboratory User Training
- Instructions for Survivors
North Carolina has a robust network of rape crisis centers across the state that are available to support sexual assault survivors. These centers provide free, confidential services and referrals for sexual assault survivors and their family and friends.
If you or someone you know needs assistance, call the National Sexual Assault Hotline at 1-800-656-4673 or the North Carolina Coalition Against Sexual Assault at (919) 871-1015. Additional information and resources can be found on our Public Protection webpage or (919) 716-6780.
Overview and FAQs for Victims of Sexual Assault (Español)
Rape Victim Assistance Program
The North Carolina Department of Public Safety’s Division of Victim Services administers a financial assistance program for victims of rape, attempted rape, sexual assault and attempted sexual assault. Up to $800 of expenses are eligible to cover costs associated with sexual assault evidence kit collection.
Funds are paid directly to the provider of care (hospital or doctor). Providing insurance details is encouraged as the Rape Assistance Program will coordinate payments with any applicable insurance plan.
For further questions: Call 1-800-826-6200 or write the Rape Victim Assistance Program, 4232 Mail Service Ctr., Raleigh, NC 27699-4703.
Printable Patient Information Sheet
North Carolina Crime Victim Compensation Program
Survivors of rape and sexual assault who report the crime may also be eligible for assistance from the North Carolina Crime Victim Compensation Program which helps victims of violent crimes meet their financial obligations. The program may assist with payments of medical bills, psychological counseling fees and lost wages.
Survivors have up to two years from the crime to file a claim.
For more information about the program, contact Victims Compensation Services at (800) 826-6200 or (919) 733-7974.